Prime Edition

Peace Party on the verge of break-up

Three of its four MLAs have announced that they are quitting.

MOHAMMED ANAS  New Delhi | 10th Nov 2012

The Peace Party of India, which made its debut in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections earlier this year, is on the verge of a split. Three of its four MLAs in the UP Assembly have announced that they are quitting the party. The rebels MLAs, led by Rae Bareli strongman Akhilesh Singh, allege that "the party has been working with the Bharatiya Janata Party to flare up communal passions in the state in ahead of the Parliamentary elections in 2014".

Singh, who is a six-time MLA from the Gandhi family bastion, said that he has quit the post of party general secretary. "The party stopped being what it used to be before the Assembly elections. The party is losing its relevance. It was dedicated to the backward sections of society, but now it is merely serving the fantasies of its top leadership. Party president Dr Mohammed Ayub has become arrogant and self-centric," said Singh. He added that he did not have any proof that the party was involved the recent communal riots in the state. "But there are strong doubts about their activities," Singh said. He added that his colleagues Kamal Yousuf, MLA from Domriyaganj and Anisur Rahman Saifi, MLA from Kaanth, are with him.

Kamal Yousuf told The Sunday Guardian that the rebel legislators may form their own party by the end of November. "We cannot resign from the party post as we will lose our seats under the anti-defection law, but we need to have two-third majority to form our own party. We have this number and will form our own Loktantrik Peace Party," said Yousuf. He said that the party leadership, especially Dr Ayub, was "working with communal forces".

Dr Ayub dared his MLAs to put in their papers. "If they have the guts, they should resign from the party. The party has made them, they have not made the party. The Peace Party is intact and will remain so," Ayub said.

Newer | Older


iTv Network : newsX India News Media Academy aaj Samaaj  
  Powered by : Star Infranet