Prime Edition

Indian women football team flay Pakistan in SAFF semis

OUR CORRESPONDENT  New Delhi | 20th Dec 2010

Indian women football team

Adding another success to their impressive run in the ongoing SAFF Women's Championship 2010, Indian women football team today trounced their arch rivals Pakistan by 8-0 to secure a place in the finals.

India scored seven goals in the first half of the match to send their opponents on the back foot, adding another one in the second half to complete the rout in the first semi-final played at the Cox's Bazar Stadium in Bangladesh.

Almost all the players put in a commendable performance for the occasion with in-form Bala Devi scoring a hat-trick, while Gayatri bagged a brace. Sasmita Malick, Amoolaya and Manpreet Kaur also scored a goal each.

India had already scored 31 goals in the group stage and today's performance just confirmed their supremacy on the field.

Bala Devi scored the first goal in the 18th minute and Gayatri continued the tumult by doubling the lead for India in the 26th minute before Bala Devi scored two quick goals (31' & 32') to complete her fluent hat-trick.

Malick then took the game away Pakistan's grip as minute later she found the target. Gayatri took advantage of hapless Pakistan defence to score her second and her side sixth goal in the 39th minute. Amoolaya too joined the party when she scored the seventh goal at the stroke of the half time as India finished the first half proceedings with a scoreline reading 7-0.

With a scoreline of 7-0 at half time, there was no way for Pakistan to recover from such a brutal damage. However, they did manage to put a halt to India's rush to score goals. But India did not let the second half of the match to be without any goals.

Manpreet Kaur sealed the deal for India by scoring the eighth goal just two minutes before the final whistle as India cruised to the finals of the SAFF Women's Championship to be played on December 23.

Bangladesh will take on Nepal in the second semi-finals tomorrow.

Newer | Older


iTv Network : newsX India News Media Academy aaj Samaaj  
  Powered by : Star Infranet